top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMultiple Contributors

Looking Back and Moving Forward: May/June Editors' Letter



The Grappler has been through multiple evolutions throughout the past year as we inch closer to discovering who we are and what we intend to convey. For this final edition of our editors’ letters, we each have reflected on our experiences as editors for The Grappler.


Back in 2019, before I committed to DePaul and before my outlook on the future changed radically, I had only the vestiges of an idea as to what dramaturgy meant. I liked theatre and I liked writing about it and all I wanted was some occupation in which I could do just that. In all its elusiveness, dramaturgy seemed to at least offer me a pathway into writing without any acting requirement (the prospect of which would send my high school self into stagefright-fueled hysterics) so I went with it. And here I am three years later! I’m still not quite able to articulate what exactly dramaturgy is but I think I’ve at the very least proven the dramaturg’s capacity for writing. Joining The Grappler’s editing team feels like a climax in my Theatre School career. This is the culmination of what I’ve wanted to do for years and I enjoy being surrounded by similarly passionate and brilliant dramaturgical minds. I love reading people gush about their secret loves outside of just theatre, from baseball to tabletop RPGs to astrological birth charts. Through the written word, a form of communication I hold dear, The Grappler has built a community based in love and artistic inquiry. In my two years left at TTS, I look forward to continuing to bolster The Grappler and its team of writers and build an even stronger network of writing that transcends class year or concentration.

-Liz Bazzoli


I love beginnings the same way I love airports, fresh sheets, and blank pages. In these moments of newness, there is a sense of infinite possibilities, infinite potential. I know our school year is coming to a close (I don’t like endings nearly as much as beginnings), but there is still so much work to be done. I am so excited to start this journey forward as a part of The Grappler’s editorial staff with Leah and Liz. I will miss Liv dearly and thank them for all of her support ,and of course, friendship. This year, I found inspiration in every meeting, finding joy in the very fact that we can gather together, be in community, and talk about theatre. These conversations are what brings our articles to life. In my time on The Grappler’s staff, we started having conversations about not only our team but the broader TTS community on the ways we can make our environment and our practices ones of care. I am looking forward to finding a way to continue this practice of dramaturgy, care, and of course love. Stay excited. Stay curious.

-Camille Pugliese


When I began my journey as an editor of The Grappler, nothing could have prepared me for the collective of bright minds that I have encountered. Our team has published 48 (!!) works this year, a record in The Grappler’s history. We are actively pushing the boundaries of what theatre looks like, how dramaturgy extends far past the stage. I am deeply proud to be a part of this publication and how we continue to start conversations about how we want to see change in our community. If you have read or listened to our content this year, THANK YOU. It is because of the abundance of support our team has received that we continue to show up and share our thoughts and ideas. I am filled with joy for holding this position and being a part of this team.

-Leah Geisler


In my first Editor’s Letter in March of 2021, I wrote about my vision for The Grappler: a place where everyone who shared their writing was empowered by that choice, felt free to engage critically, and allowed themselves to have fun. More than anything, The Grappler felt like a way to practice dramaturgy that engaged the community, something that I was missing in my TTS education. A year and a bit later, we have created a community with our writers, editors, and readers that has exceeded anything that I could have ever dreamed of. I am so grateful for the opportunity to practice all of the community-engaged, non-hierarchical, everyone’s-ideas-are-considered dramaturgy that I preach.

This is my last Editor’s Letter, and I am so joyful about the future of The Grappler. The breadth of content that we have created throughout the year is staggering. Articles that ranged from Dungeons and Dragons as devised theatre to Stephen Sondheim’s dramaturgical practice have gone live on our website. The Grappler’s annual Season Response was a huge hit, and our interview series with directors, playwrights, and MessFest participants gave insight into the student creative process. I am so excited to see what this community becomes next year, and I am honored to have been on an editorial team with Leah, Liz, and Camille. Thank you all for your support and love, I am waiting with bated breath to see what you do next!

-Liv Garcia


Love what you're reading? Subscribe to our newsletter!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page