top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Archer

Why I cry at Sports... sorry tom hanks

Staff writer, Grace Archer highlights the unique theatricality that sports possesses while grounding the conversation in language we commonly most commonly use to discuss theatre.


“It’s just sometimes I get emotional over sports,” sobs Zoey Deutch’s character in Set It Up as she talks about the Gerilympics—a fictional sporting event featuring elderly people competing for a second chance at their athletic dreams. Her sappy reaction to watching sports is a gag throughout the whole movie, but I felt like somebody finally understood. Growing up as a theatre kid in a family of sports fans, I learned the appeal of watching sports. Now that I don’t live in a house where basketball or football games are on the TV almost all the time, I understand a similarity between our differing interests: catharsis. Theatre and sports can provide a story that hooks an audience and loops them into new settings and characters. As viewers, we instinctively turn to elements of catharsis, such as connection and empathy, with those we are witnessing— it is vital to the success of the action and to the benefit of the audience.

So where do we find this connection? One prime example is through location. Some of the best theatre I’ve seen reflects the community it's a part of and the audience it is serving. I have fond memories of seeing shows back home that were devised and built with residents of the city, some of whom had never participated in a theatrical space. It is an exciting form of expression and communal pride. This particular bond to the audience keeps people in the seats and engaged with the content. The same could be said for sports teams. Growing up, I was surrounded by the plethora of professional sports teams that the Dallas/Fort Worth area has to offer. I remember my dad waking me up early in the morning and driving to the airport to see the Dallas Mavericks get off the plane after winning the NBA Championship in 2011. The excitement and energy that connected the players and coaches to its fans after winning their first championship game in the team’s then 31 year history is an experience I will never forget. Since the NCAA Division I Basketball Tournaments, or March Madness, recently crowned their National Champions, it seems important to mention that this mindset can also be applied to college sports teams. After spending a lot of time and money to attend a school, people are more inclined to see these teams do well. In my post-grad years, I’ll still try my best to cheer for DePaul Men’s Basketball (even if we haven’t made it to the tournament since 2004…). Making connections between team and fans or performance and audience based on personal proximity allows for more opportunity to stay involved in the progression of the work being done.

However, not every sports team will be playing in those big championship games. So…why should we care? Sports programming will typically weave narratives about the team or the players into the game to keep people entertained. Let’s take this year’s Super Bowl as an example: the Kansas City Chiefs vs. the Philadelphia Eagles. The last few years when I’ve hosted a Super Bowl party, I have kept a list of quick facts about the team on display. It doesn't have much to do about the athletic performance of the team, but rather stories that have been spurred to make more people anticipate watching the game. This preparation sets up expectations and allows us to connect with a team before the game even begins. My favorite fact from this year was about the Kelce Brothers—Travis Kelce, tight end for the Chiefs, and Jason Kelce, center for the Eagles, became the first brothers to play against each other in a Super Bowl. What!?

Eyes turned to their parents: Which jersey would they wear? Are they placing bets? Which child do they love more? Drama! On top of that, Jason Kelce’s wife Kylie was 38 weeks pregnant and brought her OB/GYN to the game in case the excitement induced her labor. What a riveting twist! The stakes have never been higher! Sibling rivalries, family loyalties, and new life were swirling into this year's Super Bowl. The story of the Kelce family became a major part of the game in order to appeal to a wider audience. The excitement from this narrative built up to the grand finale that made me want to stay in it and watch the whole game. It kept me immersed in the experience of the players, even though I had not watched prior games.

Now, there have been times where I got a little extra emotional over watching a game. The Houston Astros’ first World Series title definitely had me weeping on the couch, even though I wouldn’t identify as a fan. In 2017, Hurricane Harvey hit the Gulf of Mexico, with cities like Houston getting the worst of it. It was a truly devastating natural disaster that left thousands displaced due to flooding or other severe damages. Two months after this tragedy, the Houston Astros made it to the World Series. And won. For the first time ever. While I usually get emotional for the players who had dreamed of this moment, especially when it’s the teams first championship win, you could feel that this was a win for the whole city. It helps boost morale in the spirit of community strength. In the wake of this disaster, Houston’s confidence transcended its local fanbase as more people were able to experience this moment of joy together as a connected source of catharsis.

Whether we realize it or not, many people are experiencing the same theatrical catharsis in sports. They both have the ability to bring humans together on local and national levels. In my personal experience, narratives weaving into these games keeps me engaged and allows me to appreciate the world of sports even more. So whether you find yourself watching a short game highlights video or one of many movies or TV series dedicated to athletics, I encourage you to explore the emotional relief sports can provide.



97 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page