top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMultiple Contributors

September Editors' Letter: Meet the Editors!




And so it begins.

This year, The Grappler is celebrating our 13th (!!) season with an immense amount of excitement for what is to come. Writing in an ever-evolving context has never been an easy feat, but it is one that we, as the editors of The Grappler, intend to explore fervently in the following year.

Who are we, you may be wondering? Allow us to introduce ourselves!

~~~

Hi there! My name is Leah, my pronouns are they/she, and I am one of the three managing editors for The Grappler this year. This is my second year as editor, and I am so excited to continue showing up in this role. Some of the things you may see me writing about (or passionately giving 30-minute speeches about to no one in particular) here on The Grappler are sensory-friendly accessibility, the intersection between film and theatre, creating theatre that is just as meaningful as it is aesthetic, and expanding what dramaturgy looks like in a theatrical space. As one of the editors for this year, my intention for The Grappler is to create a community dialogue about the aspects of theatre that are not given as much space in classes. Last year we got real about criticism, mentorship, the absence of marginalized groups in the work we consume. This platform is a space for talking about what we love just as much as it is about what we want to change. Thank you for showing up, and I cannot wait to share with you what is in store.

~~~

Hi everyone! I’m Camille, I use she/her pronouns, and I am truly so excited to start my first full year as one of the three managing editors of The Grappler. I am also a quintuple scorpio, I have a deep love for the state of New Jersey, and STILL consider myself the Elle Woods of dramaturgy (more on this later)... so make of that what you will. I love people, plays, and things that are big, bold, and unapologetic. I can (and will) talk at length about theatre, community, and the powerful intersections they create. This year, I’m interested in finding ways to tap into TTS’s energy now in our second year back in the building while reflecting on how this community can shape and inform the art that we make. Jill Dolan (performance scholar and really cool person) talks about ‘the ephemeral maybes of this magic place,’ the magic place being the theatre. The Grappler had an incredible last year, but we must turn towards the present. I cannot wait to explore the ephemeral maybes of the ‘22 - ‘23 school year with each and every one of you. Remember, we all commit acts of dramaturgy but we may not even realize it.

~~~

Hello, friends. My name is Liz Bazzoli, I use he/they pronouns, and I am happily the third of The Grappler editors this year. Outside of dramaturgy I have a double major in Cinema and Media Studies, so I have a particular passion for film analysis and the comparative anatomy of theatre and cinema. I’m a BFA3 and I think that the past two years have forced me to contemplate the purpose of theatre and I want to continue exploring the ethical responsibilities of artmaking. What I love about The Grappler is that there is so much love and intellectual passion that goes into each piece. It’s beyond fascinating to get a glimpse into each writer’s personal aesthetic and I’m glad that The Grappler can be a creative outlet for people. I always want to advocate for the role of the dramaturg and I see The Grappler as a way for dramaturgy to have a pronounced presence in the TTS community, something that we can hopefully expand upon with our ongoing discussion regarding criticism. I look forward to meeting everyone, new faces and old, and I can’t wait to read a new year of works.

~~~

The three of us will be at the helm of everything The Grappler produces this year, and we are beyond excited to work as a trifecta. To keep up to date with what we publish in the coming weeks (interviews, reviews, deep dives, and general dramaturgical enthusiasm), make sure to follow us on Instagram @grapplertts.


Wishing you a grounded and exciting beginning of the school year!


Grapple on,

Camille, Leah, and Liz




Love what you're reading? Subscribe to our newsletter!


59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page